Smothered chicken with mushrooms, cheese and potatoes.

 So I did this meal last night. I was a little hesitant, but I decided to do it anyway. It came out pretty good. I got my recipe from this site, http://www.netcooks.com/recipes/Poultry/Mushroom-Swiss.Cheese.Smothered.Chicken.html but of course you know I revised it. I didnt really measure anything (lol) and added baby red potatoes too cause I thought it was be a good side dish but I just combined it and it came out great. so here it is!!! I used

Chicken breast

cooking oil

potatoes

salt

pepper

season salt

garlic powder

onion powder

white wine

chicken broth

red peppers

butter

mushrooms

provolone cheese

The first thing I did was of course defrost the chicken. I got the Wal-mart brand of chicken breast but any kind will do, Im sure. I didnt use the whole bag cause I was unsure of this recipe. Plus I was cooking for two and altho my husband a huge eater, there was no reason to make a whole bag.

Then I did the potatoes. This was my own ingredient that I decided to put in. What I did was chop them up in medium size pieces then I put them in a pan. I used this kind of skillet but anyone would be fine!

Next I seasoned them with garlic powder, onion powder, season all salt, and black pepper and basil. yum. Be generous with the seasonings. Seriously. Potatoes dont catch seasons that well. So drizzle drizzle and drizzle alot more. Stir then cover them and leave them until the’re soft.

Next I started on my half defrostest chicken. Now, I recommend that you defrost them at least 2 hours before you actually start cooking them but I didnt. lol. What I did was chop off all the fat (not that much) and seasoned them with black pepper, salt, and season all salt. With just those ingredients alone, its BANGIN!!! lol

In a seprate medium size pan (aside from the potatoes) on medium/high, heat up the oil and then place your chicken in. Give it a few minutes on each size. I can never tell when the chicken in completly done so what I do is I make sure that I place the chicken in at once and then after its cook on both size for 2 minutes or so, I cut one of them open to see if its pink or not. If it is most likely the other ones are too. If not, pull them out. I think its always okay to cut open your chicken if it means making sure its fully cook. IDK, Im not a chef. lol 

While my first batch was cooking. I preheated my oven to 375 degrees. I chopped and prepared my onions and mushroom to cook.  Then I took my potatoes out and placed them evenly on a 13 by9 inch baking pan. 

                                                                                                            

Then after my chicken was done, I placed them on top of the potatoes. I cleaned out the pan (that I cooked my chicken) and started sauteing my onions and mushrooms. Oh yea, and I added some red bell peppers. Didnt regret that choice.

After a few minutes of that, I added chicken broth and wine. lol. Now, I have a confession to make. Lol. I dont like wine. in fact, I dont like alcohole. I stopped drinking completly sometime after my birthday last August. Never got drunk, never got anything actually, but my own fasination with wine come in when cooking- or so I just found out. lol. I have never cooked with wine before and so when it came time to add the wine I kinda went crazy. lmbo. I added a half a cup of wine then I poured some more in. lmbo. Anyway, when it comes to this part, Id go with the directions on this one:1/4 wine and half a cup of chicken broth. lol.

After that I poured the mixture in the pan over the chicken and potatoes. Put some Provolone cheese (altho the ingredients said swiss) and put it in the oven for about 15-20 minutes or until the cheese starts to bubble.

It turned out great. The only problem (by my own admission) is the fact that it came out watery (because of the chicken broth and wine. lol) which I guess is okay cause its not actually water. It had alot of flavor! yay. The potatoes came out wonderful as well. Everything came out great.

My husband loved it. He gave my an 8 out of 10 only cause he saw that it was  “water” followed by a “mmmm….” “hummmm” mmmmmmmmmmmm….” lol! Im glad he liked it. So yea, there it is smothered chicken with mushrooms, cheese, and potatoes.

I would def make this again. My friends are even asking for it so that maybe soon. ❤

